July 06, 2020



Agenda of the official working visit of President Andrés Manuel López Obrador to the United States of America



The President of the United Mexican States, Andrés Manuel López Obrador, will pay an official working visit to Washington, D.C in response to the invitation extended to him by President Donald J. Trump. The central objective of this visit is to celebrate the entry into force of the United States-Mexico-Canada Agreement (USMCA).


President López Obrador will fly on Tuesday, July 7th, on a commercial airline, to the capital of the United States, where he is expected to arrive at night. On the morning of Wednesday, July 8th, the Mexican President will head the wreath-laying ceremonies at the Abraham Lincoln Memorial and the Statue of Benito Juárez.


On Wednesday afternoon, President López Obrador will visit the White House. After the protocol greetings, presentation of delegations and signing of the Guest Book, he will hold a private meeting with his U.S. counterpart. Then, both Presidents will hold a second meeting with their respective delegations.


The Presidents of Mexico and the United States will sign a joint statement. The agenda will conclude with a dinner offered by President Trump to President López Obrador, his delegation, and a group of businesspeople from both countries. The Mexican President will return to Mexico on early Thursday.


President López Obrador's visit to Washington, in the context of the entry into force of the USMCA, underscores Mexico's commitment to the agreement, which promotes investment and trade in the region for the welfare of our peoples.


The meeting will confirm the strategic alliance between both nations: In 2019 Mexico was the U.S.A.’s first trade partner and vice versa. The President of Mexico will take advantage of the visit to reaffirm his government's commitment to maintaining a relationship with the United States characterized by close collaboration and mutual respect to deal with common challenges.


The members of the Mexican delegation are the Secretary of Foreign Affairs, Marcelo Ebrard Casaubon; the Ambassador of Mexico to the United States, Martha Bárcena Coqui, the Secretary of the Economy, Graciela Márquez Colín, the Head of the Office of the Presidency, Alfonso Romo Garza; the Head of the President's Assistance Team, Daniel Asaf Manjarrez; the Director General for North America at the Foreign Ministry, Roberto Velasco Álvarez; as well as the Deputy Chief of Mission of the Embassy of Mexico in the USA and the Attaché of the Ministry of Economy in Washington, D.C., Alfredo Miranda Ortiz and Gerardo Lameda Díaz Pérez, respectively.