·         The programme’s expansion sends a clear message to the world that the United Kingdom is more open for business.

LONDON, United Kingdom, 21st November 2016. - In order to increase trade and tourism with our country, and as a confidence vote, starting today Mexican frequent visitors to the UK could have a faster entry to the UK with the Government’s Registered Traveller Service.

Mexicans permanent residents, of those who have a national passport and have a visa/entry clearance, or have visited the UK at least four times in the past two years, will be able to register to the service which allows approved members, who have undergone advanced security checks, faster entry at the UK border through access to the ePassport gates (if a holder of an ePassport) or the UK/EU passport lane.

“Registered Traveller”, which is currently open to passport holders from Australia, Canada, Hong Kong, Japan, New Zealand, Singapore, South Korea, Taiwan and the US, currently has more than 67,000 members and offers faster entry through the UK border.

Mexico’s approval in to the referred programme stands to the low percentage of problems registered with Mexicans at the UK border gates. Only in 2015, British customs authorities –with whom the Consular Section of the Embassy of Mexico holds a constant dialogue- counted a record number of 183,000 Mexican visitors to the UK.

Amber Rudd, Home Secretary, said “By opening the Registered Traveller Service to even more members we are sending a clear message to the world that the UK is open for business.”

Liam Fox, International Trade Secretary, stated “I’m pleased to see the Registered Traveller scheme expanding to include these key markets. Latin America offers fantastic opportunities for British companies and many have already had success in the region, with 58 of our FTSE 100 firms doing business there.”  

Applicants apply online An application costs £70. This includes a non-refundable fee of £20 for considering the application and a £50 annual membership fee that will be refunded if an application is unsuccessful. There is a £50 charge to renew membership for a further 12 months.

It is noteworthy to mention that the British Government also includes Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Israel, Malaysia, Brunei, El Salvador, Costa Rica, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, Belize, Panama, Paraguay and Uruguay.

For media enquiries contact the Home Office Press Office on +44 (0)20 7035 3535.