Blue Flag certification of Mexican beaches


Blue Flag is an international certification of beaches, marinas and major vessels in the world, which promotes sustainable management of coastal destinations and recognizes those who achieve excellence. To receive recognition, a national and an international jury analysed and evaluated there excellence in the areas of: water quality, environmental education, environmental management, safety and services. Blue Flag has standardized protocols and strict selection process, verification and monitoring.



At the international level, it has 4,154 Blue Flag beaches and marinas in 49 countries. Of these, 20 beaches and a marina are in Mexico. Furthermore, seven more beaches requested this year the enrollment to the Blue Flag certification program.

The beaches and marinas participating in the program get benefits such as improvement in the management of the beaches and marinas, more regulation on coastal processes, recovery and restoration of coastal ecosystems, monitoring of coastal and marine areas, knowledge of the habitat and implementation of programs environmental education. In addition, participants beaches have monthly monitoring of clean beaches and water quality.



Blue Flag certification renewal:

·         Quintana Roo

·          Ballenas (Cancun)

·          Balneario Municipal de Bacalar

·          Chac Mool (Cancun)

·          Dolphins (Cancun)

·          Marlin (Cancun)

·          El Niño (Cancun)

·          Las Perlas (Cancun)

·          Playa Centro (Isla Mujeres)

·         Jalisco

·          Camarones(Puerto Vallarta)

·          Palmares (Puerto Vallarta)

·         Oaxaca

·          Chahué (Huatulco)

·         Baja California Sur

·          El Chileno(Los Cabos)

·          Palmilla (Los Cabos)

·          Santa Maria (Los Cabos)

·         Guerrero

·          El Chileno (Acapulco)

·          El Palmar I (Zihuatanejo)

·          El Palmar II (Zihuatanejo)

·          El Revolcadero I (Acapulco)

·         Nayarit

·          Nuevo Vallarta (Banderas Bay)

·          Marina Riviera Nayarit (Banderas Bay)

·         Veracruz

·          Tortuguero (Nautla)

New Candidacy to  Blue Flag certification:

·          Baja California Sur: The Coromuel

·          Quintana Roo Kantenah Bay and Coral Beach

·          Jalisco: Playa de Oro

·          Guerrero: Icacos II and El Revolcadero II