PRESS RELEASE: MEXICO JOINS THE AUSTRALIA GROUP

12 August 2013

On the 12th of August 2013, Mexico formally became the 42nd member of the Australia Group, the cooperative and voluntary group of countries working to counter the spread of materials, equipment and technologies that could contribute to the development or acquisition of chemical and biological weapons (CBW) by states or terrorist groups.

There was a consensus and very strong support expressed for Mexico's membership at the 3-7 June 2013 Australia Group Plenary, with Mexico afterwards reaffirming its intention to join the Group.

In warmly welcoming Mexico to the Group, the other Australia Group members recognised the Government of Mexico's steadfast efforts to bring Mexico's export control system fully into line with AG common control lists and guidelines, and its determination to contribute even more effectively to the global effort to prevent the proliferation of CBW in the security interests of all members of the international community. Mexico has also underlined its continuing commitment to WMD non-proliferation and to strengthening international standards for best practice export controls.

In joining the Group, the Government of Mexico said it would contribute constructively to the achievement of the Group's objectives and to support its principles, in the interest of disarmament, global security and non-proliferation. As an AG Participant, Mexico would also promote the fulfilment of international obligations created under the Biological Weapons Convention (BWC), the Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC) and UN Security Council Resolution 1540, among others.

With its admission into the AG, Mexico has demonstrated the will to implement rigorous controls of high standards in international trade, and its capacity to adapt its national regulatory system to meet the necessities of its expanding economy. Mexico is also aware of the need to constantly adapt its export controls in the face of rapidly evolving scientific and technological challenges, and in this regard, affirmed its readiness to act in close cooperation with all members of the Group.

The other Australia Group members are: Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, European Union, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Republic of Korea, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Republic of Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom and United States.

Further information on the Australia Group is available at www.australiagroup.net